Sandboxing helps prevent malware from installing itself on your computer, or using what happens in one browser tab to affect what happens in another. The sandbox adds an additional layer of protection against malicious web pages that try to leave programs on your computer, monitor your web activities, or steal private information from your hard drive (see video below).
Chrome will show you a warning message before you visit a site that is suspected of containing malware or phishing.
With Safe Browsing technology enabled in Chrome, if you encounter a website suspected of containing phishing or malware as you browse the web, you will see a warning page like the one shown above.
A phishing attack takes place when someone masquerades as someone else to trick you into sharing personal or other sensitive information with them, usually through a fake website. Malware, on the other hand, is software installed on your machine often without your knowledge, and is designed to harm your computer or potentially steal information from your computer.
To make sure you have the latest security update, Chrome checks regularly to make sure that it's always kept up-to-date. The update check ensures that your version of Chrome is automatically updated with the latest security features and fixes without any action required on your part.
When you don't want your website visits or downloads to be recorded in your browsing and download histories, you can browse in incognito mode. In addition, any cookies created while in incognito mode are deleted after you close all open incognito windows.
When you're browsing in incognito mode, you'll see the incognito icon in the corner. Incognito mode is particularly handy since it's an easy way to browse the web in a private way without needing to change your privacy settings back and forth between browsing sessions. For example, you can have one regular session as well as one incognito session in separate windows at the same time.
You can control all your privacy preferences for Chrome from the Options dialog, under the Privacy section located at the top of the Under the Hood tab.
Learn more about managing your privacy preferences for:
With Chrome, you can clear your browsing data at any time so that this information is not stored in your browser, including browsing and download histories, cookies, saved passwords, and saved form data.
dvertisers personalize your ads, so that you see ads you are interested in. Advertising companies that are members of the Network Advertising Initiative (NAI) and other self-regulatory efforts allow you to opt out of this personalization. In Chrome, you can maintain your opt-out status for the browser permanently even when you clear all cookies by installing the “Keep My Opt-Outs” Chrome extension.