Avast GrimeFighter: Undo an Avast GrimeFighter scan

How undo changes made by an Avast GrimeFighter scan

If you experience any problem with the changes Avast GrimeFighter made to your computer in your most recent scan and clean, you can revert your computer to its previous state.

This option is limited to 7 days of the cleanup, and only applies to the most recent cleanup.
  1. Open your Avast Antivirus user interface and go to Scan → Scan for performance issues.
  2. To get to GrimeFighter mode, click Optimize my PC and confirm to Reboot and run now.
  3. When the computer restarts in GrimeFighter mode, click Undo last scan.
  4. Click Yes, I do to confirm that you want to undo your previous scan. The previous cleanup is reversed.
  5. Your system returns to Windows in its previous state, as it was before the most recent cleanup.
  1. Run the file grimefighter.exe which you have previously downloaded to your PC.
  2. Click Undo all changes at the bottom of the screen. Click Undo to confirm.
  3. Your PC starts in GrimeFighter mode and the previous cleanup is reversed.
  4. Your system returns to Windows in its previous state, as it was before the most recent cleanup.
This option is limited to 7 days of the cleanup, and only applies to the most recent cleanup.

Please follow the detailed steps below to undo changes made by a recent Avast GrimeFighter cleanup.

  1. Open your Avast Antivirus user interface and go to Scan → Scan for performance issues.
  2. To get to GrimeFighter mode, click Optimize my PC, ...and confirm to Reboot and run now or schedule it for later.
  3. When the computer restarts in GrimeFighter mode, click Undo last scan.
  4. Click Yes, I do to confirm that you want to undo your previous scan. The previous cleanup is reversed.
  5. Your system returns to Windows in its previous state, as it was before the most recent cleanup.
  1. Run the file grimefighter.exe which you have previously downloaded to your PC.
  2. Click Undo all changes at the bottom of the screen. Click Undo to confirm.
  3. Your PC starts in GrimeFighter mode and the previous cleanup is reversed.
  4. Your system returns to Windows in its previous state, as it was before the most recent cleanup.

The undo process is similar to a system restore and can have unforeseen consequences if applied after much time has passed. For this reason the option to undo the changes is limited to 7 days of the clean, and only applies to the most recent cleanup.

If you would like to scan again, but select the specific changes to be made, you can review and edit changes before performing the final system cleanup as described in the detailed steps of the following article:

It is recommended to have a look around after any GrimeFighter scan, to be sure that everything is working properly and none of the changes interfere with your normal activities on the PC.

  • Avast GrimeFighter
     
  • Avast Premier 2015
  • Avast Internet Security 2015
  • Avast Pro Antivirus 2015
  • Avast Free Antivirus 2015
  • Microsoft Windows 8.1 / Pro / Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows 8 / Pro / Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Home Basic / Home Premium / Professional / Enterprise / Ultimate
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic / Home Premium / Business / Enterprise / Ultimate
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home / Professional / Media Center Edition

We are sorry, unfortunately this article is not available in the selected language. Would you like to continue reading the article in the current language or go to our home page in the language you have just selected?

Continue reading Go to Home page