Avast Cleanup 2 for Android: Getting Started

How to Use Avast Cleanup 2

Avast Cleanup is an application designed to help you improve the performance of your device and preserve your storage space by removing unnecessary media, files, apps, and app data. You can remove these items by transferring them to a cloud storage account and/or deleting them from your device. In the case of photos, you can also optimize them to consume less space.

The app is available in a free and premium version. To use the app, refer to the instructions in the following sections:

Navigate the App Interface

You can open the app by tapping the Cleanup icon on your device.

The Cleanup interface comprises five tabs at the top of the screen. Each tab consists of different information or actions that you can perform. The tabs include:

  • Cleaning: gives you a general overview of the storage space on your device, and enables you to quickly and safely remove space-wasting data by tapping the Safe clean button. You can also free memory space by using the Memory boost button to stop non-system apps from running in the background, and view cleaning tips for your device.
  • Media & Files: enables you to manage the media and files content on your device by deleting such items or transferring them directly to your Dropbox, Google Drive, or OneDrive cloud storage service. Additionally, you can optimize your pictures so that they consume less space.
  • Apps: provides a summary of the apps that you installed on your device and the amount of data each app is consuming. From this tab you can remove apps and app data to free more space on your device.
  • Tools: displays an overview of the amount of data that Cleanup has cleaned from your device or transferred to a cloud storage account. From this tab you can also change your Cleanup settings, upgrade to a premium subscription, and seek help or provide feedback about the app.
  • More by Avast: enables you to open or install other apps by Avast to improve the performance and security of your device.

To change tabs, tap a tab icon or swipe left or right depending on which tab you want to access.

Configure Cleanup Settings

In your Cleanup settings (located on the Tools tab), you can configure your Safe clean preferences, connect to your cloud storage account, specify the notification and warning types that you want to receive, and upgrade to premium.

Follow these steps:

  1. Tap (or swipe to) the Tools tab, then tap Settings. A list of settings and setting types opens.
  2. Tap each item in the list to open the related settings and set your preferences.
    Premium settings are highlighted with the subtext Pro Feature. If you do not already have a Cleanup Pro subscription, tap Upgrade to proceed to the purchase screen.
  3. Turn off the Trash review and Memory Booster Check settings in the following cases:
    • Trash review: you do not want to review items before permanently deleting them during a Safe clean.
    • Memory Booster Check: you do not want to review apps before their background activity is stopped by a Memory boost.
  4. Tap the back arrow to return to the main screen of the Tools tab.

Your Cleanup preferences are set. For more information about Cleanup settings, see the following FAQ:

Optimize Storage and Memory Space

On the Cleaning tab, you can manage your storage and memory space by performing a Safe clean and/or a Memory boost.

Follow these steps:

  1. Tap (or swipe to) the Cleaning tab if you are not already on this screen. Cleanup analyzes your storage and memory space then indicates the percentage of used space or the amount of free space (if you tap the percentage), and how much you can safely clean from your device (on the Safe clean button).
  2. Tap Safe clean to remove items that are wasting your storage space, and, if prompted, tap Finish cleaning (if Safe Clean Check is turned on in Settings). When the clean is complete, Cleanup advises you of the amount of released storage space.
  3. Tap the back arrow to return to the main screen of the Cleaning tab.
  4. Tap Memory Boost to stop the background activity of your non-system apps to free memory space, and, if prompted, tap Boost now (if Memory Booster Check is turned on in Settings). When the memory boost is complete, Cleanup advises you of the amount of released memory space.
  5. Tap the back arrow to return to the main screen of the Cleaning tab.

Your memory and storage space have been optimized.

If the Safe Clean Check and Memory Boost Check options are turned on in Settings, each time that you perform a Safe clean or Memory boost, a summary of the different types of items (to be deleted) or system-apps (to be stopped) appears for you to check before the relevant action completes.

Transfer Media and Files to the Cloud

From the Media & Files tab, you can further optimize your device by moving your media and files content to a cloud storage service. Before you begin, make sure you are connected to your cloud storage service in Settings.

Follow these steps:

  1. Tap (or swipe to) the Media & Files tab.
    Your connected cloud storage services are visible on this tab, including the amount of available storage space. If you are not already connected to a cloud storage service, tap Connect to go to the Cloud services settings.
  2. Tap Pictures, Audio and Video or Documents, other files (depending on the type of items you want to transfer) to open an overview of these items on your device.
  3. Select one or more items or tap Select All, then tap the menu icon that appears, and select your preferred option:
    • Tap Optimize size to optimize the size of images and optionally delete or transfer them to your cloud storage account (only available for items in the Pictures category).
    • Tap Move to cloud to transfer items to your cloud storage account (if you are not already connected to your cloud storage account, tap Connect to cloud to connect to or sign up for a cloud storage account).
    • Tap Move to trash to permanently delete items or, if you turned the Trash review option on in Settings, to add items to the Trash for you to review before confirming their permanent deletion.
    For a list of alternative options, tap the menu icon next to any item.
  4. Tap the back arrow to return to the main screen of the Media & Files tab when you are finished.

You can find any items that you transfer to the cloud in the Avast Cleanup folder of your Dropbox, OneDrive, or Google Drive accounts. To control your photo optimization settings, upgrade to Cleanup Pro.

Manage Applications and App Data

The Apps tab gives you an overview of the amount of space that is being consumed by the applications installed on your device. From this tab, you can delete unnecessary app data, or remove apps from your device if, for example, you do not use them.

Follow these steps:

  1. Tap (or swipe to) the Apps tab.
  2. Verify the number of Large Apps and Unused Apps on your device as displayed in the boxes, and tap a box see the relevant apps.
    If you have not already granted Cleanup the Usage Access permission, you can only see the number of Installed Apps, and a question mark appears for the number of Unused Apps. Tap the question mark to open your device settings and grant this permission.
  3. Tap Applications or App Data to open a display of the selected category on your device.
  4. Select one or more items or tap Select All.
  5. Tap the delete icon to permanently remove items from your device, or the menu icon (next to any individual item) for more options.
    If you turned the Trash review option on in Settings, items that you delete are added to the Trash for you to review before confirming their permanent deletion.
  6. Tap the back arrow to return to the main screen of the Apps tab when you are finished.

Any app data that you deleted has been cleaned from your device, and any apps that you deleted are no longer installed.

Upgrade to Cleanup Pro

Upgrade to the premium version of Cleanup to unlock a range of advanced features. Follow these steps:

  1. Tap (or swipe to) the Cleaning tab if you are not already on this screen.
  2. Tap the Upgrade badge and select your preferred subscription plan (monthly or yearly) to be directed to the payment page.

After you complete the payment, the premium features of Cleanup are unlocked on your device. Your Cleanup Pro subscription is valid across all devices connected to your Google account with Cleanup installed. For more information about Cleanup Pro, refer to the following FAQs:

  • Avast Cleanup 2.x
  • Android 5.x
  • Android 4.0.3 and higher

We are sorry, unfortunately this article is not available in the selected language. Would you like to continue reading the article in the current language or go to our home page in the language you have just selected?

Continue reading Go to Home page