Avast Cleanup Premium: FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

Avast Cleanup Premium is an optimization tool which scans for and resolves performance, storage, and security issues on your PC.

Avast Cleanup Premium is a paid product and requires a separate, paid license to use.

General

Download, installation, and activation

Features

Settings

Troubleshooting

What is Avast Cleanup Premium?

Cleanup Premium is a PC optimization tool. Cleanup Premium scans your PC to identify issues which may be taking up space or interfering with the performance of your PC and allows you to select which issues are removed or resolved.

Is there a free or trial version of Cleanup Premium available?

Cleanup Premium is a paid product and requires a separate, paid license to use.

If you use Avast Antivirus, you can perform an initial Cleanup scan. To resolve any of the found issues, you can purchase a Cleanup Premium subscription via the Avast user interface.

If you do not use Avast Antivirus, you can purchase and download Cleanup Premium from the Avast website.

How do I perform a scan?

If you use Avast Antivirus, you can perform an initial scan by opening your Avast user interface and going to Performance → Cleanup Premium → Scan Now. To perform additional scans or resolve found issues, you need to purchase a Cleanup Premium subscription.

If you already purchased and installed Cleanup Premium, double-click the Cleanup Premium icon on your desktop, then select which scan you want to perform by clicking the relevant tile:

  • Maintenance: a comprehensive scan that detects broken or redundant items in the system as well as tracking data.
  • Speed Up: scans for unnecessary programs as well as programs launched during system startup which are still running in the background.
  • Free Up Space: scans for leftover files created by the system, programs, or installers (such as temporary, log, and cached files, including browser data) which may be taking up large amounts of disk space on your PC.
  • Fix Problems: scans for unusual system settings which may be affecting the reliability of your PC's behavior.

For detailed information about each scan, read the following article:

What does Cleanup Premium do with my encrypted files?

Cleanup Premium ignores encrypted partitions and files to ensure your privacy and security. If your entire hard drive is encrypted, Cleanup Premium cannot scan and optimize your system.

Can I review details of what Cleanup Premium will optimize before it cleans?

Yes. When Cleanup Premium completes a scan, you can review and manage any found issues.

 

How do I install and activate Cleanup Premium?

If you purchased Cleanup Premium through your Avast Antivirus, Cleanup Premium is installed and activated.

If you purchased Cleanup Premium as a standalone product from the Avast website, follow these steps to install and activate the program:

  1. Download and run the Cleanup Premium standalone file from the Avast website.
  2. Click Yes in the User Account Control dialog.
  3. Confirm the location of the Cleanup Premium file, then click Next.
  4. Click Install, then click Finish.
  5. Enter your activation code in the activation dialog which appears, then click OK.

How do I purchase Cleanup Premium?

If you use Avast Antivirus, follow these steps to purchase Cleanup Premium:

  1. Open the Avast user interface and go to Performance → Cleanup Premium.
  2. Click Scan Now.
  3. After Cleanup performs an initial scan, click Resolve.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to purchase and install Cleanup.

If you do not use Avast Antivirus, you can purchase a Cleanup Premium subscription from the Avast website.

Can I transfer my Cleanup Premium activation code from one PC to another?

If you purchased a Cleanup Premium activation code for 1 PC, the activation code can only be used on the PC where it was activated for the first time.

If you purchased a Cleanup Premium activation code for multiple PCs, you can use the activation code on the number of PCs the subscription was purchased for.

What is a Maintenance scan?

The Maintenance scan is a comprehensive scan that checks for the following issues on your PC:

  • Broken Registry Items
  • Broken Shortcuts
  • System Junk
  • Browser Cache
  • Tracking Cookies
  • Browsing & Download History

To launch a Maintenance scan, double-click the Cleanup Premium icon on your desktop and click Maintenance. After a scan, you can select which items you want to resolve. For detailed information, read the following article:

What is Speed Up?

The Speed Up option scans for issues which may be affecting the speed and performance of your system. During a Speed Up scan, Cleanup Premium checks for the following issues:

  • Background & Startup Programs
  • Junk Programs

To launch a Speed Up scan, double-click the Cleanup Premium icon on your desktop and click Speed Up. After a scan, you can select which items you want to resolve. For detailed information, read the following article:

What is Free Up Space?

The Free Up Space option scans for leftover files created by the system, programs, or installers (such as temporary, log, and cached files, including browser data) which may be taking up large amounts of disk space on your PC.

To launch a Free Up Space scan, double-click the Cleanup Premium icon on your desktop and click Free Up Space. After a scan, you can select which items you want to resolve. For detailed information, read the following article:

What is Fix Problems?

The Fix Problems option cans for unusual system settings which may be affecting the reliability of your PC's behavior.

To launch a Fix Problems scan, double-click the Cleanup Premium icon on your desktop and click Fix Problems. After a scan, you can select which issues you want to resolve. For detailed information, read the following article:

What is the Rescue Center?

The Rescue Center allows you to undo certain changes made by Cleanup. To access the Rescue Center, click the rescue icon on the right side of the Cleanup Premium interface. You can view a list of actions and click Undo next to any action you want to undo.

How do I manage Cleanup Premium settings?

You can access Cleanup Premium settings by clicking the gear icon on the right side of the Cleanup Premium interface. You can manage various settings such as language, notifications, and your Cleanup subscription. For detailed information about Cleanup Premium settings, read the following article:

Can I use my PC during a scan?

Yes, you can continue to use your PC while Cleanup Premium performs the scan and clean. However, we recommend that you review the scan results to confirm the actions Cleanup performs.

Can I schedule Cleanup to run automatically?

No. At this time, Cleanup Premium does not have a scheduling option.

Can I undo changes made by Cleanup?

Yes. If you are unsatisfied with any changes Cleanup makes to your PC, you can undo certain changes in the Rescue Center.

Not all Cleanup actions can be reversed.

How do I report a problem or suspected bug?

By default, Cleanup Premium

If Cleanup Premium produces unexpected results or error messages, report the issue to Avast Support by submitting a ticket. Send a detailed description of how to reproduce the error and include the following information:

  • Your version of Windows and your PC's brand, model, and graphics card.
  • Detailed description of the problem and the sequence of actions leading up the issue.
  • Any error messages displayed.
  • Any differences on your PC following the Cleanup issue.

How do I report a falsely identified junk file or program that Cleanup Premium removed from my system?

If Cleanup Premium disables or removes a file or a program that you wanted to keep, report the issue to Avast Support.

You can report the issue to Avast Support by opening a support ticket and including the exact file or program name and the undesired result. Include all specific, relevant details.

  • Avast Cleanup Premium

  • Avast Premier 17.x
  • Avast Internet Security 17.x
  • Avast Pro Antivirus 17.x
  • Avast Free Antivirus 17.x
  • Microsoft Windows 10 / Home / Pro / Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows 8.1 / Pro / Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows 8 / Pro / Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Home Basic / Home Premium / Professional / Enterprise / Ultimate
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic / Home Premium / Business / Enterprise / Ultimate
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home / Professional / Media Center Edition

We are sorry, unfortunately this article is not available in the selected language. Would you like to continue reading the article in the current language or go to our home page in the language you have just selected?

Continue reading Go to Home page