academy
Sécurité
Confidentialité
Performance
Choisir la langue
Avast Academy Sécurité Autres menaces Qu’est-ce que le doxxing et comment s’en protéger ?

Qu’est-ce que le doxxing et comment s’en protéger ?

Le doxxing (ou doxing) est une pratique consistant à rechercher les informations sensibles de quelqu’un pour les publier sur Internet. Les pirates y ont recours pour se venger d’internautes, les harceler ou les faire chanter. Découvrez comment fonctionne le doxxing et apprenez à préserver vos données.

What_is_Doxxing-Hero

Qu’est-ce que le doxxing ?

Apparu dans les années 1990, le terme « doxxing » (ou « doxing ») vient du mot « docs » (pour « documents »). Il désigne une forme de piratage (hacking) consistant à collecter des informations personnelles sur quelqu’un pour ensuite les publier sur Internet. C’est le collectif de hackers Anonymous qui l’a fait connaître au grand public.

Hamburguer menu icon

Cette article contient :

    Le doxxing peut se présenter sous diverses formes : en publiant les informations personnelles d’une personne sur Internet ou en dévoilant l’identité d’une personne se cachant derrière un surnom. Les attaques de doxxing impliquent généralement des actes de harcèlement ou de vengeance mais peuvent aussi se faire au nom de la justice, comme pour révéler l’auteur de publications racistes ou néo-nazies. 

    Cette pratique date de plusieurs décennies, mais sa popularisation l’a rendue plus néfaste. Il suffit de quelques informations personnelles (adresse postale ou électronique, lieu de travail, numéro de téléphone, etc.) pour cibler une personne. Les attaques peuvent être aussi inoffensives (création d’un compte, livraison de pizza...) que dangereuses (harcèlement, swatting, usurpation d’identité, menaces, formes de cyberharcèlement, agression physique...).

    Exemples concrets

    Tout le monde peut faire l’objet de doxxing : individus lambda, journalistes, célébrités... 

    1997 : l’une des premières campagnes de doxxing a été menée aux États-Unis. Des militants anti-avortement ont créé un site (Nuremberg Files) dressant une liste de prestataires d’avortement à « abattre » avec leurs informations personnelles. En 2002, un tribunal a conclu que le site incitait à la violence et l’a fermé.

    2003 : suite aux attentats du marathon de Boston, des milliers de personnes se sont réunies sur Reddit pour jouer les détectives. Les redditors se sont mis à doxxer plusieurs suspects. Il s’est avéré qu’aucun d’entre eux n’avait été impliqué dans l’attentat.

    2017 : des suprémacistes blancs ont défilé à Charlottesville (États-Unis) et des contre-protestants les ont doxxés. Plusieurs néo-nazis ont perdu leur emploi suite à l’annonce de leur participation à l’événement. Malheureusement, des personnes innocentes ont été accusées à tort et ont quand même fait l’objet de menaces et de messages haineux.

    La légitimité du doxxing reste discutable : si la plupart des informations sont déjà disponibles sur Internet, cela peut rapidement devenir problématique, surtout avec l’effet de masse.

    Comment fonctionne le doxxing ?

    À l’origine, le doxxing provient de différends où l’un des utilisateurs finit par divulguer des informations sur l’autre pour se venger. Mais depuis peu, le doxxing sert d’arme pour des confrontations idéologiques. De nombreux journalistes et célébrités ont aussi fait l’objet de doxxing. S’en sont suivies des manifestations en ligne, des menaces de mort et des atteintes à leur sécurité.

    Pour doxxer une personne, vous devez collecter ses informations personnelles. Nombreux sont ceux qui voient Internet comme un terrain anonyme, pourtant il existe de nombreux moyens d’identifier un internaute. 

    Pour recueillir des informations (adresse, numéro de téléphone, etc.), les doxxers peuvent éplucher les sites Internet et rassembler tous les éléments dont ils disposent pour découvrir la personne qui se cache derrière un surnom. Ils peuvent aussi acheter et vendre des informations sur le dark web.

    Doxxing via IP/FAI

    Pour découvrir votre adresse IP (qui permet de déterminer votre emplacement physique), les doxxers peuvent procéder de plusieurs façons. Ils peuvent recourir à des techniques d’ingénierie sociale auprès de votre fournisseur d’accès à Internet (FAI) pour en savoir plus sur vous. Voici l’un des divers moyens de réaliser un dox à partir d’une adresse IP (ou d’un FAI).

    Vous publiez un commentaire sur un forum ou un blog. L’administrateur du site peut voir votre adresse IP via le commentaire (c’est ce qui lui permet aussi de bloquer un utilisateur s’il poste du contenu indésirable). À partir de votre adresse IP, le doxxer cherche quel est votre FAI. Avec une application de phone spoofing, il le contacte (votre numéro de téléphone s’affiche).

    Il se fait passer pour un membre du support technique : il aimerait aider un client mais le site est hors service ou il a perdu la connexion. Rien qu’avec votre adresse IP, il peut obtenir d’autres informations, telles que :

    • Nom complet

    • Adresse e-mail

    • Numéro de téléphone

    • Numéro de compte FAI

    • Date de naissance

    • Adresse postale

    • Numéro de sécurité sociale

    Évidemment, cela requiert un peu de temps et de crédibilité (et un gentil représentant FAI), mais ce n’est qu’un moyen parmi tant d’autres de se procurer vos informations personnelles.

    Doxxing via les réseaux sociaux

    Sur les réseaux sociaux, le doxxing est plus simple. Si votre profil est public, tout le monde peut accéder à vos informations (ville de résidence, emploi, amis, photos, centres d’intérêt, lieux visités, noms des membres de la famille et des animaux de compagnie, etc.).

    Pour les doxxers, c’est une véritable mine d’or qui peut même permettre de deviner les réponses à vos questions de sécurité et donc d’accéder à vos comptes en ligne (banque virtuelle, etc.). C’est pour cela que vous devriez configurer tous vos comptes en mode privé.

    Si vous êtes inscrit sur des sites communautaires (Reddit, 4Chan, Discord, YouTube, etc.), veillez à bien créer un nom d’utilisateur et un mot de passe différents pour chaque site. Si vous utilisez les mêmes identifiants, un bon doxxer pourrait parcourir tous les commentaires que vous avez publiés sur chacun des sites et les compiler. Faites aussi attention à ne pas dévoiler trop d’informations personnelles, comme le nom de l’entreprise pour laquelle vous travaillez.

    Courtiers en données

    Le métier des courtiers en données consiste à collecter des informations sur les internautes pour les revendre. Ils peuvent les collecter par divers canaux : documents publics (licence de mariage, permis de conduire, registre électoral...), cartes de fidélité (pour connaître vos habitudes d’achat en ligne et hors ligne), historique de recherche (recherches, sites visités, téléchargements). Ils peuvent même acheter des informations à d’autres courtiers en données. En général, ils revendent ces informations à des annonceurs, mais il existe aussi des moteurs de recherche de personnes proposant des dossiers complets pour environ 20 euros. Pour cette modique somme, vous avez de quoi doxxer une personne.

    Qu’est-ce que le swatting ?

    Le swatting est un vilain cousin du doxxing. Cette pratique consiste à signaler au téléphone une « prise d’otage » à l’adresse de la cible. À l’arrivée de l’unité de police spécialisée (SWAT, aux États-Unis), les habitants du domicile concerné sont pris au dépourvu et dans la confusion, tout peut arriver. On retrouve beaucoup cette pratique dans les cercles de jeu : c’est un moyen d’interrompre la partie d’un adversaire.

    En voici un exemple tragique : contrarié d’avoir perdu un pari de 1,50 $ sur Call of Duty, un adolescent a voulu se venger de son adversaire. Il a signalé une prise d’otage au domicile de celui-ci, sans savoir qu’il avait déménagé. Lorsque des policiers lourdement armés sont intervenus au domicile en question, ils ont tué un homme de 28 ans qui ne jouait même pas à ce jeu.

    Le swatting est un phénomène récent mais de plus en plus dangereux. Si la plupart des municipalités ne sait pas vraiment comment s’en préserver, la ville de Seattle (États-Unis) a décidé de prendre la situation en main. Elle a créé un registre anti-swatting pour que les personnes craignant d’être victimes de swatting y inscrivent leur adresse. En cas d’appel ressemblant à une attaque de swatting, la police consulte ce registre avant d’intervenir. Si l’adresse est dans le registre, les policiers peuvent faire preuve de plus de vigilance et éviter des situations inutilement dangereuses.

    Le doxxing est-il illégal ?

    Le doxxing a plusieurs visages et sa légalité s’établit au cas par cas. Il n’existe pas de loi anti-doxxing à proprement parler et aucune loi ne punit la collecte, la compilation et la publication d’informations publiées sur Internet. Mais selon l’attaque, les doxxers peuvent être inculpés pour d’autres crimes (et cybercrimes) tels que le harcèlement, l’usurpation d’identité ou encore l’incitation à la violence.

    Aux États-Unis, l’Interstate Communications Statute (décret sur les communications interétatiques) et l’Interstate Stalking Statute (décret sur le harcèlement interétatique) peuvent aussi s’appliquer à certaines formes de doxxing. De même, il n’existe pas de loi interdisant explicitement le swatting, mais leurs auteurs peuvent être inculpés en vertu d’autres lois.

    Le doxxing est-il passible de prison ?

    Oui, vous pouvez aller en prison pour une attaque de doxxing ou de swatting. Dans l’exemple cité (pari perdu sur Call of Duty), l’adolescent a été inculpé de 52 chefs d’accusation pour faux appels et menaces (avec fausse alerte à la bombe au FBI), et purge actuellement une peine de 20 ans de prison.

    Comment savoir si j’ai été doxxé ?

    Si vous avez été doxxé, vous le saurez bien assez tôt. Malheureusement, quand les doxxers publient des informations personnelles, ce n’est pas pour en rester là. Si vous recevez des messages de menaces, verrouillez tout de suite vos comptes en ligne. Regardez si votre compte Facebook a été piraté et si votre compte Gmail est bien sécurisé.

    Vous pouvez aussi vérifier si vos informations personnelles sont en vente sur le dark web (la zone d’Internet à laquelle vous ne pouvez accéder que par des voies spéciales, comme Tor). Comme parcourir tout seul le dark web n’est pas forcément évident, vous pouvez vous aider d’un logiciel : Avast BreachGuard analyse le dark web 24h/24 et 7j/7. S’il y trouve vos informations personnelles, il vous prévient instantanément pour que vous puissiez réagir.

    Que faire si j’ai été doxxé ?

    Si vous avez été doxxé ou si vous soupçonnez quelqu’un de vous doxxer, vous devez enrayer la propagation de vos informations au plus vite. Voici quelques mesures à prendre immédiatement :

    • Recueillez des preuves. Prenez des captures d’écran de tout ce qui pourrait servir d’élément à la police.

    • Signalez l’abus sur toutes les plateformes où vos informations apparaissent. Les sites comme Facebook et Twitter ont des conditions de service contre le doxxing et doivent suspendre le compte du doxxer.

    • Signalez le cybercrime aux autorités compétentes.

    • Verrouillez vos comptes. Renforcez la confidentialité de tous vos comptes : modifiez vos mots de passe, utilisez un gestionnaire de mots de passe, activez l’authentification à plusieurs facteurs...

    • Demandez de l’aide à vos proches. Le doxxing peut être une véritable épreuve psychologique. Évitez de tout gérer seul et parlez-en à votre famille ou à vos amis.

    • Changez de numéro de téléphone. Selon les informations divulguées, il peut être judicieux de changer de numéro de téléphone, de nom d’utilisateur ou tout autre élément permettant de vous identifier.

    • Faites appel à un service de surveillance des fuites d’informations personnelles. Par exemple, Avast BreachGuard peut surveiller le dark web et vous prévenir si vos informations personnelles y circulent. Il peut aussi supprimer vos informations de la base de données des courtiers pour limiter le nombre d’informations stockées sur vous. Téléchargez Avast BreachGuard et découvrez si vos informations sont en danger.

    Comment se préserver du doxxing

    Faire l’objet de doxxing peut constituer un véritable traumatisme. Heureusement, en adoptant quelques bonnes pratiques, vous pouvez préserver vos données et éviter le doxxing.

    Protégez votre adresse IP avec un VPN ou un proxy

    Votre adresse IP peut révéler votre identité aux internautes. Elle peut aussi indiquer votre emplacement géographique : pas votre adresse exacte, mais au moins votre quartier. Pour masquer votre adresse IP, il suffit d’utiliser un VPN ou un proxy. Ces deux outils permettent de se connecter à un serveur avant de se connecter à Internet. Vous êtes ainsi caché et protégé : si une personne essaie de découvrir votre adresse IP, elle n’obtiendra que l’adresse IP du serveur.

    Si vous voulez vous protéger gratuitement, utilisez un proxy web. Mais si vous êtes prêt à investir dans votre confidentialité et souhaitez naviguer de façon plus sécurisée, essayez notre VPN Avast SecureLine. Il chiffre toute votre connexion Internet (personne ne peut regarder ce que vous faites sur Internet, même sur les réseaux Wi-Fi publics non sécurisés) et pour plus d’anonymat, il permet aussi de modifier votre emplacement virtuel.

    Évitez de vous connecter avec votre compte Facebook ou Google

    De nos jours, tous les sites (jeux, applications, etc.) proposent les options « Se connecter avec Facebook » ou « Se connecter avec Google ». C’est bien sûr tentant : pourquoi créer un autre mot de passe et nom d’utilisateur uniques ? Mais en vous connectant à un site via Facebook ou Google, vous donnez à ce site l’accès à plus d’informations sur vous. Plus vous vous connectez à des sites avec les mêmes identifiants, plus vos informations peuvent être compilées dans un seul endroit. 

    Le fait de se connecter à différents sites via son compte Facebook ou Google peut rendre particulièrement vulnérable à une violation de données : si le mot de passe de votre compte fuite, un pirate peut accéder à tous les sites pour lesquels vous utilisez ce mot de passe. Pour les pirates, il sera d’autant plus facile de collecter des données, et pour vous, il sera encore plus difficile de verrouiller vos comptes.

    Paramétrez bien vos comptes de réseaux sociaux

    Vos profils peuvent en dire long sur vous : ville/région, emploi, date de naissance, amis, membres de la famille, photos, centres d’intérêts, etc. En publiant autant d’informations sur Internet, vous vous exposez au doxxing. Même si vous ne pensez pas avoir d’ennemis, mieux vaut verrouiller vos comptes. Suivez nos instructions pour configurer Facebook en mode privé et désindexer vos profils des moteurs de recherche (instructions numéro 8). Pensez aussi à renforcer vos paramètres de confidentialité sur Instagram et sur tous vos autres réseaux sociaux.

    Utilisez des pseudonymes

    Si vous êtes sur Reddit ou d’autres forums, n’utilisez surtout pas votre vrai nom. Ne précisez pas non plus votre date de naissance, lieu de résidence ou tout autre élément qui permettrait de vous identifier. Reddit adore les surnoms rigolos, alors faites preuve d’un peu de créativité (« monchienparletchèque », par exemple !).

    Avec un pseudonyme, vous pourrez naviguer de façon plus anonyme. De même, choisissez un pseudo différent pour chacun des services que vous utilisez. Si vous réutilisez le même, un doxxer pourrait relier ces différents comptes et relever des éléments identifiables.

    Déposez des demandes de suppression de données

    Comme nous l’avons dit, les courtiers en données compilent et vendent des quantités de données personnelles. La plupart des gens ne savent même pas que des sociétés de courtage en données possèdent des dossiers sur eux (historique de navigation, habitudes d’achats en ligne et hors ligne, antécédents médicaux, transactions financières, casier judiciaire, etc.).

    Et comme les violations de données finissent toujours pas arriver (cf violation de données d’Equifax), vos données peuvent fuiter à tout moment. Et si vos données atterrissent sur le dark web, elles risquent d’y rester à jamais. 

    Alors que faire ? Si vous parvenez à identifier chacun des courtiers en données qui détiennent vos informations, vous pouvez les contacter individuellement pour leur demander de vous retirer de leur base de données. Légalement, ils sont obligés de s’y conformer, mais le processus peut être très long.

    Soyez donc proactif et utilisez un logiciel de confidentialité comme Avast BreachGuard : avant que vos informations personnelles ne puissent être exposées, il se charge de contacter les courtiers en données en votre nom et fait toutes les démarches pour vous. Il surveille aussi le dark web pour vous alerter de toute fuite.

    Protégez vos informations avec Avast BreachGuard

    Avast BreachGuard protège vos informations de 3 manières :

    1. Surveillance 24h/24 et 7j/7. Avast BreachGuard scanne sans arrêt le dark web pour y détecter toute violation de données. Si vos informations fuitent, vous serez immédiatement prévenu et pourrez prendre les mesures nécessaires.

    2. Demandes de suppression. Avast BreachGuard identifie les courtiers qui ont établi votre profil et leur envoie des demandes de suppression de données.

    3. Protection des mots de passe. Avast BreachGuard analyse les mots de passe faibles ou réutilisés dans votre navigateur et veille à ce qu’aucun d’eux n’ait fuité.

    Avec Avast dans votre camp, les doxxers n’ont aucune chance ! Téléchargez tout de suite Avast BreachGuard pour renforcer vos défenses, protéger votre vie privée et empêcher vos informations personnelles d’être exposées ou utilisées contre vous.

    Connectez-vous de façon privée sur votre iPhone
    avec le VPN Avast Secureline

    ESSAI GRATUIT

    Connectez-vous de façon privée sur votre Android
    avec le VPN Avast Secureline

    ESSAI GRATUIT

academy
Security
Privacy
Performance
Select language
Avast Academy Security Other Threats What Is Doxxing and How Can You Prevent It?

What Is Doxxing and How Can You Prevent It?

Doxxing (or doxing) is the practice of uncovering someone’s sensitive personal information and publishing it online. Hackers use doxxing to harass, threaten, or get revenge on someone online. Learn how doxxing works so you can protect yourself and your private data.

What_is_Doxxing-Hero

What is doxxing?

The term “doxxing” originates from the word “documents.” 1990s hacker culture shortened the term to “docs” and then “dox,” with “dropping dox” referring to collecting personal documents or information, such as a person’s physical address, and then publishing them online. The hacker collective Anonymous helped popularize the term.

Hamburguer menu icon

This article contains:

    Today, the definition of doxxing can refer to publishing anyone's information online, or can apply specifically to uncovering the real person behind an anonymous handle or username and exposing them online. Doxxing attacks usually involve harassment or revenge, and sometimes a sense of vigilante justice, such as doxxing people to reveal the racist or neo-Nazi comments they posted anonymously online. 

    While the concept is decades old, doxxing is still alive and well — and it can be very dangerous, especially as it becomes more mainstream. Once someone’s private information is out there, they can be targeted based on their physical address, job location, phone number, email, or other information. Doxxing attacks can range from the somewhat benign, such as fake mail sign-ups or pizza deliveries, to the far more dangerous, like harassing a person’s family or employer, swatting, identity theft, threats or other forms of cyberbullying, or even in-person harassment.

    Real-world examples

    Doxxers can choose anyone as their victims, whether it’s someone they got into an argument with online, a journalist, or a celebrity. 

    One of the first doxxing campaigns began in 1997 when anti-abortion activitists in the US targeted abortion providers. This particularly insidious doxxing example involved a website called the Nuremberg Files, which published abortion providers’ personal information as a hit list, encouraging harm against them. A 2002 court case found that the site constituted a threat to incite violence, and it was shut down.

    After the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing, thousands of people gathered on the online community Reddit to play detective. The Redditors ended up incorrectly identifying and doxxing several suspects — none of whom turned out to be involved in the bombing in any way.

    A few years later, in 2017, white supremacists marched in Charlottesville, VA, inspiring some counter-protestors to dox participants. Several neo-Nazis lost their jobs after doxxers revealed their participation in the march. But some innocent people were incorrectly suspected of participating in the march and were flooded with hate mail and threats — for something they weren’t even involved in.

    While the ethics of doxxing can be murky — after all, most of the information is publicly available online — it can quickly turn nasty, especially when a mob mentality springs up.

    How does doxxing work?

    Doxxing traditionally started with arguments online and escalated to one person sleuthing out information about an adversary. Recently, doxxing has begun to be used as a tool in culture wars, with hackers doxxing those who support opposing ideologies. Many celebrities and journalists have been doxxed, too, causing them to suffer from online mobs, death threats, and fears for their safety.

    To dox someone, private information needs to be tracked down. And while many people think of the internet as anonymous, it’s important to understand that there are many ways you can be identified online. 

    Doxxers use various methods to collect information about their victims. By following breadcrumbs — small pieces of information about someone — scattered across the internet, a dedicated doxxer can assemble a useful puzzle that leads to uncovering the real person behind an alias, including the person’s name, physical address, email address, phone number, and more. Doxxers may also buy and sell personal info on the dark web.

    IP/ISP Dox

    Doxxers can use various methods to discover your IP address, which is linked to your physical location. Doxxers can then use social engineering tricks on your internet service provider (ISP) to discover more information about you. There are many ways to accomplish this, but here’s just one example of how an IP dox (or an ISP dox) can work:

    Let’s say you post a comment on a forum or a blog. The administrator of the forum or owner of the blog can see your IP address through the comment (that’s how they’re able to block users whose comments they may not want on their site). With your IP, the doxxer can easily discover who your ISP is. They can then use a call spoofing app to make their phone number display the ISP’s own number.

    The doxxer calls the ISP, pretending to be a member of the tech support team — they fabricate a convincing story of trying to help a customer, but the service is down or they lost the connection. All they have is an IP address, but they can use that to request the rest of your customer information, which may include:

    • Your full name

    • Email address

    • Phone number

    • ISP account number

    • Date of birth

    • Physical address

    • Social security number

    Sure, this requires a few steps, some manipulation, and a gullible ISP worker, but it’s just one method out of many that an experienced doxxer can use to uncover all of your personal information.

    Social media doxxing

    An easier tactic is social media doxxing. If your social media accounts are public, anyone can discover all kinds of information about you, such as your location, place of work, your friends, your photos, your likes and dislikes, places you’ve visited, the names of your family members, the names of your pets, and more.

    A doxxer can find a large body of information about you, and may even discover the answers to your security questions — which would help them break into your other online accounts, such as your online banking account. That’s why you should make all your social media accounts private.

    If you’re using online forums like Reddit, 4Chan, Discord, Youtube, or others, make sure you use different usernames and passwords for each service. If you use the same ones, a dedicated doxxer could search through your comments on all different platforms and use that information to compile a detailed picture of you. Also make sure not to reveal too much personal information, such as the name of the company you work for.

    Data brokers

    Data brokers exist to collect information about people and sell that information for profit. Data brokers gather their info from publicly available records (marriage licenses, DMV records, voter registration logs), loyalty cards (your online and offline buying behavior), online search histories (everything you search, read, or download), and from other data brokers. Many data brokers sell their information to advertisers, but there are also several people-search sites that offer comprehensive records about individuals for around $20 a pop. All a doxxer has to do is pay this small fee to get more than enough info to dox someone.

    What is swatting?

    Swatting, the demented cousin of doxxing, is when someone calls to report a “hostage situation” at their victim’s address. Then, when a SWAT team rushes in, people at the address are caught completely off-guard and are often hurt or even killed in the confusion. This happens often in gaming circles, when perpetrators want to interrupt other streamers as they play.

    One tragic example of this involved a teenager who was upset about a $1.50 bet he made over Call of Duty. To get revenge on his opponent, he reported a hostage situation at his opponent’s home — but he had an old address where his opponent no longer lived. Then, when heavily armed police showed up at what was essentially a random person’s home, they ended up shooting and killing a 28-year-old man who was not even involved in the game.

    Swatting is a recent phenomenon, but it’s becoming increasingly dangerous. Many cities don’t know how to protect against swatting — but Seattle, WA has developed a good tactic. They’ve started an anti-swatting registry to allow people who are worried about getting swatted to list their address in a database. Then, if a call comes in, police check the registry before showing up at the address. That means they can be much more cautious and avoid causing an unnecessarily dangerous situation.

    Is doxxing illegal?

    Doxxing is multifaceted, and its legality is determined on a case-by-case basis. While there are no laws against finding publicly available information and compiling or publishing it — or even any specific anti-doxxing laws — there are other crimes (and cybercrimes) that doxxers can be charged for, depending on the nature of the case. These include stalking, harassment, identity theft, or incitement to violence.

    In the US, the Interstate Communications Statute and the Interstate Stalking Statute may be applied to doxxing, depending on the details of a particular case. There are also no laws explicitly prohibiting swatting, although perpetrators can be charged under other laws.

    Can you go to jail for doxxing someone?

    Yes, you can go to jail for doxxing or swatting someone. The teenager mentioned above who reacted to losing a Call of Duty bet by falsely reporting a hostage situation was caught, charged with 52 criminal counts related to fake calls and threats (including an earlier fake bomb threat at the FBI), and is currently serving 20 years in prison.

    Have I been doxxed?

    If you’ve been doxxed, you’ll know it soon enough. Unfortunately, doxxers usually don’t publish someone’s personal information and then stay quiet about it. If you start receiving threatening messages, it’s time to lock down all of your accounts. Make sure to check if your Facebook account has been hacked and verify that your Gmail account is secure.

    You should also check to see if your personal information is now for sale on the dark web — the restricted part of the internet that you need special means, like Tor, to access. It’s not easy to monitor the dark web yourself, so you may want to consider enlisting the help of a service. Avast BreachGuard scans the dark web 24/7, alerting you the moment the exposure of your personal information has been detected and helping you work quickly to secure your privacy.

    What to do if you’ve been doxxed

    If you’ve been doxxed, or if you think someone may be doxxing you, it’s time to act fast to stop the spread of your personal information. Here are a few simple steps you can take right away:

    • Document the evidence. Make sure to take screenshots of everything in case you need to report it to the police.

    • Report the harassment to whatever platform your info appears on. Sites like Facebook and Twitter have terms of service agreements that prevent doxxing, and they should respond to your request and suspend the account of the doxxer(s).

    • Report the cybercrime to the appropriate authorities.

    • Lock down your accounts. Change your passwords, use a password manager, enable multi-factor authentication where possible, and strengthen your privacy settings on every account you use.

    • Enlist a friend or family member for support. Doxxing can be emotionally taxing. Ask someone to help you navigate the issue so you’re not dealing with it on your own.

    • Consider changing your number. Depending on what information was exposed, you may want to consider changing your phone number, usernames, or other personally identifying info where possible.

    • Enlist a service to monitor for leaks of personal information. A service like Avast BreachGuard will monitor the dark web and alert you if any of your personal information has been exposed. It will also help you remove your info from data brokers’ databases, reducing the amount of information doxxers can find about you online. Get Avast BreachGuard today and find out if any of your personal information is at risk.

    How to prevent doxxing

    Getting doxxed can be traumatizing. Luckily, there are steps you can take to avoid leaking your personal information online, protect your private data, and prevent doxxing.

    Protect your IP address with a VPN or proxy

    Your IP address identifies you online. It can also show your physical address. While it won’t show your exact street address, it can identify your location inside a general area. You can easily hide your IP address by using either a VPN or a proxy. With either one of those tools, you connect to a server before connecting to the public internet. That means anyone trying to discover your IP address will see only the IP of the server, while your address remains hidden and protected.

    A web proxy tool can provide this service for free, but a VPN like Avast SecureLine VPN provides additional privacy benefits: it encrypts your entire internet connection. That blocks anyone from snooping on what you’re doing online, especially important if you’re using unsecured public Wi-Fi networks. Our VPN also allows you to change your virtual location regularly, giving you increased anonymity and robust protection. Give Avast SecureLine VPN a spin today and enjoy a safe and secure online experience.

    Avoid “log in with Facebook/Google” options

    You see it all around the web these days, on everything from games to news sites to health apps and more: “sign in with Facebook” or “sign in with Google.” The temptation to do so is understandable — who wants to create another unique login and password? But signing into a third-party site using Facebook or Google lets that website request more info about you. And the more sites you connect to with the same login credentials, the more your personal information can be gathered and compiled in one place. 

    Signing into many different sites using just your Facebook or Google account can make you particularly vulnerable to a breach. If your account password is leaked, a hacker could then gain access to all the sites you’ve linked up. That makes it very easy for a hacker to get all your personal info, and much harder for you to lock down your accounts.

    Keep social media profiles private

    Our social media profiles include a wealth of information about us: our general location if not our full address, our work history, birthdate, friends, family members, photos, interests, and on and on. Having that much information publicly available would make doxxing you a breeze. Even if you don’t think you have any enemies out there, it’s still best to lock down your social media accounts. See our instructions to make your Facebook profile private and make sure to de-index your profile from search engines (#8 on our list). You should also tighten up your privacy settings on Instagram and any other social media services you use.

    Use pseudonyms in online forums

    If you use Reddit or other online forums, make sure you aren’t using your real name as your username. It’s best to avoid your name, birthdate, city, or any other identifying information in your handle. Reddit loves funny usernames anyway, so why not embrace your inner creativity and go with something like TheEarthIsATriangle or some other randomly adorable handle?

    Using a pseudonym is just one way you can stay more anonymous while browsing. You should also choose a unique username for every service you use. If you reuse the same one, a doxxer could connect these separate accounts and mine them all for clues to your identity.

    Request removal of your information online

    As mentioned, data brokers compile and sell huge amounts of personal data on nearly everyone these days. Most people aren’t even aware that there are many different data broker companies that possess extensive files on them, including everything from their browsing history, online and offline buying habits, medical histories, financial histories, criminal histories, and much more.

    And when data breaches inevitably happen, like the Equifax breach, your information can be leaked for all the world to see. If your details ever find their way to the dark web, they’ll likely remain there forever. 

    So what can be done? Well, if you’re able to identify each and every one of the data brokers that have your information, you can contact them individually to request they remove you from their database. But though they’re legally obligated to comply, they can make it a very time-consuming process.

    That’s why you should be proactive and enlist a privacy service such as Avast BreachGuard. Avast BreachGuard will contact data brokers directly on your behalf and take care of the information removal process for you, before your personal info can be exposed. It’ll also monitor the dark web for leaks and alert you right away should one occur.

    Protect your information with Avast BreachGuard

    Avast BreachGuard protects your information in three distinct ways:

    1. 24/7 risk monitoring: Avast BreachGuard monitors the dark web and scans for data breaches. If your information gets leaked, we’ll alert you immediately so you can take steps to protect your information.

    2. Personal info removal: Avast BreachGuard identifies the data brokers that have profiles on you and sends requests on your behalf to get your information removed.

    3. Password protection: Avast BreachGuard scans your browser for weak or reused passwords to make sure you’re not using any that may have already leaked.

    Doxxers won’t stand a chance if you have Avast on your side. Download Avast BreachGuard today to bolster your defenses, protect your privacy, and ensure your personal information isn’t exposed or weaponized against you.

    Connect privately on your iPhone
    with Avast SecureLine VPN

    FREE TRIAL

    Connect privately on your Android
    with Avast SecureLine VPN

    FREE TRIAL